The church of Agios Georgios Galatas is located within the archaeological site of Agia Triada, the summer Minoan Royal Villa which is located 3 km west of the Palace of Phaistos, and built in Byzantine period.
It is stated that the church was built in 1302, but seems that it existed and renovated that year. In the interior of the church there are unique frescoes of the 14th century. On the north wall outside the church there is a grave of 1581, which bears the double-headed eagle, symbol of the Byzantine Empire. Unusual is the temple of the church which is built of stone.